Badminton, a sport that combines agility, speed, and precision, has a storied history in India. It is a saga that began in the pre-colonial era, with games similar to badminton being played in ancient civilizations across the globe, including India. The modern game, as we know it, took shape in the mid-19th century in British India.

Badminton rules and betting information in India

Named after the town of Poona (now Pune), where it gained popularity among British military officers, the game was later introduced to England and renamed badminton after the Duke of Beaufort’s estate.

Basic Rules of Badminton

The basic rules of badminton are straightforward yet require a high level of skill to master. The game can be played as singles or doubles with the objective of hitting the shuttlecock over the net and into the opponent’s half of the court. Points are scored when the shuttlecock lands within the court boundaries on the opponent’s side or if the opponent commits a fault. The first player or team to reach 21 points wins the set, and the best of three sets wins the match.

CourtRectangular, divided by a net. Singles and doubles have different lines.
Match FormatBest-of-three games, each game played to 21 points.
ScoringRally scoring system; points can be scored by the serving and receiving side.
ServingServe must be below waist height, diagonally into the opponent’s service box.
Change of EndsPlayers switch ends after each game and in the third game when a player/team scores 11 points.
Winning a PointShuttlecock lands within the opponent’s court boundaries or opponent commits a fault.
FaultsShuttlecock hits the net, lands out, or is hit before crossing over the net.
Continuous PlayPlay should be continuous from the first serve until the match is concluded.

India’s Badminton Prodigies

PlayerAchievementsNotable Wins
Anmol KharbGuided India to its first Asian Team Championships title1.Defeated World Number 45 Pornpicha Choeikeewong and other higher-ranked opponents.
Lakshya SenYoungest Indian male to win a medal in BWF World Championships 2.Won his first major title at the age of 12, in the under-15 nationals.
P.V. SindhuFirst Indian to win gold at the World Badminton Championships in 2019.
Saina NehwalFormer World No. 1 and Olympic medalist.
Kidambi SrikanthFormer World No. 1 and has won multiple Superseries titles.

India has produced numerous badminton players who have left an indelible mark on the world stage. From Prakash Padukone, the first Indian to win the All England Open Badminton Championships, to modern-day champions like P.V. Sindhu and Saina Nehwal, Indian shuttlers have consistently challenged the global hierarchy of the sport. Their achievements have inspired a new generation of players who continue to push the boundaries of Indian badminton.

World Badminton Championship: A Stage for Excellence

YearHost CityMen’s Singles WinnerWomen’s Singles WinnerMen’s Doubles WinnersWomen’s Doubles WinnersMixed Doubles Winners
1977MalmöFlemming DelfsLene KøppenSteen SkovgaardNora PerryDerek Talbot
1980JakartaRudy HartonoVerawaty WiharjoAde ChandraNora PerryChristian Hadinata
1983CopenhagenIcuk SugiartoLene KøppenLi YongboLin YingMike Tredgett
1985CalgaryHan JianHan AipingTian BingyiGuan WeizhenMartin Dew
1987BeijingYang YangHan AipingLi YongboGuan WeizhenPark Joo-bong

The World Badminton Championship is the pinnacle of the sport, offering the most ranking points alongside the Olympic badminton tournaments. It is a platform where the world’s best compete for the title of ‘World Champion.’ India’s presence in this championship has grown over the years, with players like P.V. Sindhu becoming the first Indian to win gold in 2019.

Badminton in India is more than just a sport; it is a passion that captures the imagination of millions. The history of badminton in India is a testament to the country’s enduring love affair with the game. As Indian players continue to excel at the World Badminton Championship and other international arenas, they carry forward a legacy that is deeply rooted in India’s sporting culture.